University of Southern California

Upcoming Event: USCG-CREATE Maritime Risk Symposium, November 14 & 15, 2012

Date: July 1, 2012

USCG/CREATE Maritime Risk Symposium, 14-16 Nov 2012

"Reducing Costs and Increasing Effectiveness in the Maritime Environment"
University of Southern California, Los Angeles, CA

United_States_Coast_Guard_Sea.png

The United States Coast Guard (USCG) Research and Development Center and the University of Southern California's (USC) National Center for Risk and Economic Analysis of Terrorism Events (CREATE) once again have partnered on the third Maritime Risk Symposium (MRS) focused on risk and economic assessments, and risk management/resource allocation methodologies applicable in the maritime domain. The theme this year will be Reducing Risks and Costs and Increasing Effectiveness in the Maritime Environment.

The symposium will include traditional lectures and presentations, panel session discussions with experts, and hands-on exercises in decision-making. Based on feedback from previous MRS events, the symposium will feature extended breaks to enable in-depth discussions among participants, and hands-on demonstrations of tools, models and technologies.

This invitation-only event will be held on the campus of USC and the Westin Bonaventure. Participants will include representatives from DHS, Army Corp of Engineers, CBP, FBI, FEMA, HSI, MORS, NPS, NTSA, the Ports of LA/LB, BAH, ABS, NORTHCOM and SOUTHCOM. This year, we will further expand invitees to include increased industrial participation so as to explore Academic-Government-Industry (AGI) partnerships in the maritime domain.

For general information and attendance requests, please contact the symposium facilitators: Dr. Isaac Maya (imaya@usc.edu) or Dr. Joe DiRenzo (Joseph.DiRenzo@uscg.mil). For specific presentation information or questions, please contact the program directors: Mr. David Boyd (David.H.Boyd@uscg.mil), Mr. Bert Macesker (bert.n.macesker@uscg.mil), LT Kathryn Moretti (Kathryn.A.Moretti@uscg.mil).

Goals:

Evaluate risk and economic consequence assessment methodologies and tools, assessment results, and policy implications and impacts, focused on the Maritime Domain. How can academia, government and industry share best practices and lessons learned, and apply research and advanced technologies to reduce costs and increase effectiveness of maritime operations?

Venues:

November 14 all-day, 8am-4pm
Morning Keynote Address by USCG Atlantic Area Commander
Vice Admiral Robert C. Parker
Lunch Keynote Address by S&T Deputy Under SecretaryDan Gerstein
MRS Events at USC Town and Gown (TGF) on campus
Evening social at Westin Bonaventure, Los Angeles, CA

November 15 all-day, 8am-4pm
Morning Keynote Address by Dr Stephen Flynn
Lunch Keynote Address, Industry Recommendations Welcome
MRS Events at Westin Bonaventure, Los Angeles, CA
Dinner on your own

REGISTER HERE USING CODE "CREATE"

HOTEL INFORMATION

Symposium Facilitators and Co-Directors:
Dr. Isaac Maya (imaya@usc.edu)
Dr. Joe DiRenzo (Joseph.DiRenzo@uscg.mil)

Co-Program Directors:
Mr. David Boyd (David.H.Boyd@uscg.mil)
LT Kathryn Moretti (Kathryn.A.Moretti@uscg.mil)
Mr. Bert Macesker (bert.n.macesker@uscg.mil)

Steering Committee:

Dr. David Alderson (dlalders@nps.edu)
Professor Uzi Arad (arad@idc.ac.il)
CAPT Alan Arsenault (Alan.N.Arsenault@uscg.mil)
Craig Baldwin (Craig.W.Baldwin@uscg.mil)
Dr. Jim Boutilier (Canada) (boutilier.ja@forces.gc.ca)
Mr. Gene Brooks (gbrooks@mllnet.com)
Dr. Michael Bruno (michael.bruno@stevens.edu)
Dr. Curtis Charles (ccharles@uncfsu.edu)
CAPT Bill Csisar (william.f.csisar@uscg.mil)
Mr. George Cummings (gcummings@portla.org)
Mr. Matt Cutts (matthew.e.cutts@usace.army.mil)
VADM Peter Daly (phdaly@usni.org)
Mr. Owen Doherty (owen.doherty@dot.gov)
Dr. David Ebert (ebertd@purdue.edu)
Dr. Margo Edwards (margo@soest.hawaii.edu)
Dr. Patrick N. Forrest (PForrest@apus.edu)
Mr. Theophilos Gemelas (Theophilos.Gemelas@dhs.gov)
Dr. Michael Greenberg (mrg@rci.rutgers.edu)
John Helmick (helmickj@usmma.edu)
Dr. Rob Huebert (Canada) (rhuebert@ucalgary.ca)
CAPT Jim Jenkins (James.D.Jenkins@uscg.mil)
Mr. Kevin Knuuti (Kevin.Knuuti@usace.army.mil)
Dr. Rick Luettich (rick_luettich@unc.edu)
Dr. Elena Mastors (EMastors@apus.edu)
Mr. Michael McMullen (mcmullen@polb.com)
Dr. Allen Miller (Allen.Miller@dhs.gov)
Mr. Jon Miller (jonathan.p.miller@cbp.dhs.gov)
CAPT David Moskoff (moskoffd@usmma.edu)
CAPT David Murk (David.Murk@dot.gov)
Mr. Richard Nelson (rnelson@csis.org)
Dr. Michael Orosz (mdorosz@isi.edu)
Mr. Cosmo Perrone (cosmo@cosmoperrone.com)
Mr. Neil Piper (Australia) (neil.piper@customs.gov.au)
Dr. (Colonel, USAFR) Chris Reynolds (creynolds@apus.edu)
Lorne Richardson (Canada) (richalo@tc.gc.ca)
Dr. Fred Roberts (froberts@dimacs.rutgers.edu)
Mr. Jeffrey Robertson (Jeffrey.Robertson@hsi.dhs.gov)
Dr. Adam Rose (adamzros@usc.edu)
Dr. Jim Savard (jsavard@1965.usna.com, 303-470-8825 o, 303-517-2812 c)
Dr. Scott Savitz (ssavitz@rand.org)
Glenn Sheehan (glenn.sheehan@arcticscience.org)
Mr. Laurence Smallman (smallman@rand.org)
Mr. David Walker (David.R.Walker@uscg.mil, DWalker@absconsulting.com)
CAPT James Whitehead (James.H.Whitehead@uscg.mil)
Dr. Henry Willis (hwillis@rand.org)
Frank Wood (Frank.S.Wood@uscg.mil)


Dr. Paul Bracken
Yale School of Management
Box 208200
New Haven, CT 06520-8200

Mr. Ian Bremmer, President
Eurasia Group, New York Headquarters
475 Fifth Avenue, 14th floor
New York, NY 10017