Scientific Advisory Committee

Header Image for the Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) page

Create has assembled a Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) of professional experts from diverse backgrounds. Their experience, ranging from the U.S. Department of Homeland Security, national laboratories, the RAND Corporation, the Department of Transportation and academia, provides our researchers with diverse perspectives. The committee meets twice a year to review the Center’s research agenda.                                                       


  • Ralph Keeney (Duke) - Chair
  • Scott Farrow (University of Maryland, Baltimore/ Government Accountability Office)
  • James Matheson (SmartOrg)
  • Jason Merrick (Virginia Commonwealth University)
  • Dennis Mileti (University of Colorado at Boulder)

Former Members

  • Arif Alikhan (National Defense University-DOD)
  • Thomas Austin (Boeing)
  • Mel Bernstein (U.S. Department of Homeland Security), ex officio
  • Sherry Borener (U.S. Department of Transportation)
  • Matthew Clark (U.S. Department of Homeland Security), ex officio
  • Roger Cooke (Resources for the Future)
  • John Cummings (U.S. Department of Homeland Security, Sandia National Laboratories)
  • L. Robin Keller (University of California, Irvine)
  • Howard Kunreuther (University of Pennsylvania)
  • Andrew R. Morral (RAND Corporation)
  • Jack Riley (RAND Corporation)
  • Donald Saari (University of California, Irvine)