CREATE’s Detlof von Winterfeldt Receives Highest Honor by Society for Risk Analysis

Professor Detlof von Winterfeldt, former director and co-founder of CREATE, was presented the Distinguished Achievement Award at the Society for Risk Analysis at its annual meeting in San Francisco in December 2012. This award is given annually to an individual for extraordinary achievement in science or public policy relating to risk analysis and making a significant contribution to the field of risk analysis.

In the presentation of the award, the society president Prof. Ann Bostrom stressed the fundamental role that Prof. von Winterfeldt’s book Decision Analysis and Behavioral Research, co-authored with Prof. Ward Edwards, has had in educating risk analysts for the past two decades.

Professor von Winterfeldt also has made significant contributions to both the theory and practice of risk analysis and has been a leader in applying risk analysis to significant problems. He is recognized as one of the pioneers promoting and using risk analysis on homeland security decisions to better inform decision-makers.

Previous winners of the Distinguished Achievement Award of the Society for Risk Analysis include Chauncey Starr, Howard Raiffa, Gilbert White, William Ruckelshaus, Paul Slovic, Lester Lave, and Kenneth Arrow.